Did anyone receive an email like this today? It sounds like a Camerooon scam and I just was wondering if anyone else got this email?
From: latonyahall2001@yahoo.com
Subject: Reply To Your Ad at the Surrogate Mothers Online Virtual Classified Ads
Date: Sat, 24 Feb 2007 12:24:02 -0500
Dear Adoptive Family
It is a pleasure going through your profile, do permit me e-mail to inform you about the wonderful gift open for your adoption, which will give you a glimpse into your lives and helps you get to know the sweetest part of being Parents.i have two cutes babies for adoption, that we are looking to send into very good and loving homes that shall be well cared for.It takes a legal procedure to go through the adoption process. So you can contact us back on email if interested, for the neccessary requirments and procedure for adoption.
Thank you
Sharyn, Annette & Ruth ↓
|
|
This is a scam Jo-
Just hang in there; they are real placements that come out of that site! My Andrew is proof!
Hugs-
Carolyn ↑ |
Hi, I got one like that the "do permit me to e-mail" is similar writing, they admitted they were from Cameroon. I looked into the Cameroon adoption info, and discovered we could never be considered (if we actually found a real situation) because we have biological children already.
Good luck Jo, we have been really looking as well. The only contact we have had so far has been from Cameroon and there have been alot of those (about 6 so far).
Carolyn, how did your adoption happen if you don't mind me asking? Do birthmom's who are considering placing go to SMO to look for adopting parents?
Does anyone know how you can check to validity of a facilitator or agency? I have found an agency that is a lot less, but how do I check they are on the up and up? ↑ |
HI! Andrew's birthmom saw our ad on surromomsonline.com and replied to us. I know of another couple who placed their ad there also after we had success, and also met their birthmom there.
What agency are you interested in? A reputable agency will be happy to furnish their licensing information.
Facilitators are illegal in many states, so just be cautious.
Best wishes-
Carolyn ↑ |
Hi Carolyn, sounds like patience and making sure we keep updating our ad will help. Thank you. We did adopt our son Michael thru a facilitator in CA, however, they do get results, but their fees are more than we can afford.
We are also going to check into the foster adopt program, but I am concerned about what we may get ourselves into & how it can affect our current family. But I suppose it can't hurt to check into it. ↑ |
| yep jo ... i got it too ↑ |
Cyrstal,
I post this on purpose. This forum is searchable on major search engines. Hopefully some naive adoptive couple will google the email address and realize it's nothing more than a scam before they get their hopes up. I know surromomsonline has resulted in some adoptions, but I get more Cameroon scams from there then anywhere else! ↑ |
Yep, total scam.
And we actually were found by our son's bmom off of surromomsonline in early 2005... his bmom responded to our ad about two weeks after we placed it and he was born about six weeks later... so it CAN happen! ↑ |
One more to love and Carolyn, you both give hope that it can happen. Either one of you want to read my ad and tell me how I can improve it so we can get picked. This time around, we have been trying for a year (without a facilitator) I guess we were spoiled by being chosen the first time within 7 weeks :)
Tina
email ladybug65@charter.net ↑ |
HI Tina-
I read your ad, and it is great! Hopefully the birthmom you have been praying for will find you soon!
Hugs-
Carolyn ↑ |
|
|